Blog post #3 How does the TL make decisions on how to divide their time?

How does the TL make decisions on how to divide their time?

By deciding what is important right now.

I am the only TL in my school, but I am also the Computer Coordinator. I need to prioritise my tasks and separate my positions if I am to fulfill both my roles. I balance my RFF, admin and computer-coordinator release time to ensure that I am allocating time to the role that has the most pressing needs. If a new unit of work is starting and I need to design a display, collaborate with staff, and build up resources; then this will receive more time than, say, cleaning smartboard filters or de-fragmenting a slow laptop. If a new T4L order has come in then I can dedicate my time to setting up the new computers over, say, checking my junior fiction section for crayon scrawlings. If I can keep abreast of upcoming events in my school I can plan my time accordingly.

The idea of being “unperfect (sic)” is one that is not new to me, but it is one that I have not previously seen written down as a recommendation. Seeing this on “Effective Time Management For Teachers” site gave me some significant food for thought. Trying to dedicate oneself totally to every task is exhausting and impossible to maintain. If there are times when we SHOULD give 100% then, mathematically, there should be times when we need to give 0%; times to say “No”. Defining what YOUR job entails is half the battle when planning your time.

My biggest problem/strength is my enthusiasm for pretty-much everything. I love my job and I find teaching fascinating. the downside of this enthusiasm was finding myself so tired at the end of the day that I would need a regular 4pm nap if planned to have the strength to cook dinner. I learned, recently, that in order to complete my work effectively, I needed to draw up clear lines regarding what was my job, and what was not. I did not do this is in a dramatic, kick in the staff-room door and yell, “Enough is enough!!!” kind of way. I ran one or two staff development sessions on how to solve some of the common staff problems and then I drew up some troubleshooting guides for what to do if these methods failed. It gave the staff new skills, and alleviated some of the pressure I’d placed on myself by over-dedicating.

Leave a Reply

